How to start a “writer’s blog”

So you want to be a writer?  You have read the books and all of them talk about ‘platform’ and the importance of having a blog.  But how do you start a writer’s blog?  What the devil is really supposed to tantalise and excite your future readers?  Are they really interested in the ramblings of yet another wannabe writer?

Good questions indeed and the very questions that I ask myself as I sit at my keyboard to bang out this first blog post.

medium_3612861301

The bit where I give you some background:

I will admit that this is not the first time that I have started a new blog.  This will be my fourth blog actually.  Am I seasoned blogger who knows the ropes and can tell you what works and what does not?  I wish.

Fact is that I really don’t have much of an idea about blogging and how to do it successfully.  I could write a book about the theory:  deliver good content, find your niche, be of great service.  Yes indeedie, I could tell you the theory and then some.  But now it seems that it is time to test those theories again…

And I am not all that excited about this prospect because I know that stats can be dismally depressing (I am not supposed to care but I do, sorry!).

I know that I am supposed to be tweeting and pinning and status updating and all sorts of other socialmediarie that is required of a “platform builder”.

So you know what, here is my declaration:

I declare that this is a blog that will possibly only be updated irregularly, despite my current intention to be very “regular” poster.

I will probably deliver content that is at best relevant but probably never “useful”, although obviously that is what I would like to think that I will do..

I am not an expert.  I have no niche.  Therefore some/ a lot of these posts will seem unrelated and possibly even, dare I say it,  tangential….

I am a writer who is just coming to terms with the weighty realization that if I don’t get off my backside and write this bloody novel then I could end up being one of those bitter old ladies that I really don’t like very much. I am just looking for a way to record my journey towards the writing of my first proper grown-up novel.

I am not a hot young thing dashing off text between parties and my job in the city.  I have ….ahem…responsibilities!

I imagine that I will find out lots of useful stuff along the way.  I also imagine that I will have to weather disappointment and failure.  There may be some rejection.  There may be tears.

But there will also be things to smile about.  There will be days when the words fly off the keypad.  There will be days when I wake up with whole chunks of razor-sharp dialogue just waiting to be caught.

But it is all yet to come.

This is DAY ONE of my writing journey. 

I am armed with a Moleskine and a coffee.  My ugg boots are warming and there is a granny blanket over my knees.

Watch out world – another lady writing!!

Again…..

Juliette xxx
photo credit: ecstaticist via photopin cc

6 thoughts on “How to start a “writer’s blog”

    • Oooh good question. Not really sure. I found your article by using the Zemanta thingie under the tags section. It brings up other posts which are on a similar topic and you can then choose the ones that you like.
      Not sure how to do it otherwise apart from creating an actual link in a blog post.
      Sorry I can’t be of more help but thanks anyway. I loved your post about the whole writers blog thing. I think I am just going into this with a healthy curiosity as in, will this really make a difference or just give me a distraction from the actual writing that I should be doing! (spoiler alert… I suspect the latter!)

  1. Pingback: The Curse of Creativity | A Writers Life

Leave a Reply

